The fourth in the popular Tone Science series from DiN Records showcasing artists working with modular synth systems continues the journey down the rabbit hole of possibilities and sound worlds inhabited by artists and musicians working in this ever fascinating and varied musical field..
Following the success and critical acclaim of the first three Tone Science compilation albums, DiN label boss Ian Boddy has collated another nine tracks from musicians of varying backgrounds working in the realms of modular synthesis.
One of the challenges for Boddy in compiling the Tone Science albums is to get the track order flowing to reveal a musical structure. There’s a certain amount of serendipity in this but for Tone Science V4 the shape of the album became very obvious early on. Opening with the beautiful abstract forms created on a vintage Paperface Serge system by Batchas the next two tracks feature gentle shimmering & undulating sequencer patterns from Lightbath & Panic Girl that instil   a sense of calm & wonder.
This leads us to the middle section of the album where first Andrew Huang gently slows down proceedings with harmonic abstract patterns before Stefan Bojczuk twists the mood with a stark, moody atmosphere conjuring up images of the isolated landscape referenced in the title of his track, Blackstone Edge.
Things start to climb up to the sonic climax of the album with first Ebcidic providing a dark & dangerous pulsing sequence followed by a crazy psychedelic melange of a track from the inimitable Steve Davis. This is followed by a sledge hammer of audio from Mattia Cupelli with huge gnarly bass & TNT percussion from which there seems to be no escape.
After such an astonishing climax the longest track on the album by Tim Held at first appears to mirror the distorted tones of the previous track before a sense of calm ensues and the album finishes with a final long, beautiful breath.
01 Setting Sun by Batchas 7:42
02 Eternal Terrarium by Lightbath 6:40
03 Dream Portal by Panic Girl 5:20
04 Astral Plane by Andrew Huang 5:16
05 Blackstone Edge by Stefan Bojczuk 6:31
06 Different Paces by Ebcidic 6:33
07 Elements of Medical by Steve Davis 7:42
08 ex Machina by Mattia Cupelli 7:44
09 Myrdet av Gud by Tim Held 9:14
Total Time: 62:58