Format: CD
Artist: The Wake
CatNo: FBN29CD
Tags (click for related products):
The Wake Harmony CD
Factory Benelux presents the CD edition of Harmony, the debut album by influential Scottish group The Wake, originally released by Factory Records in December 1982.
The group formed in Glasgow in 1981 after singer/guitarist Caesar left Altered Images, and joined Factory the following year. Harmony was recorded at Strawberry Studios in Stockport with producer Chris Nagle (Martin Hannett's preferred engineer), by which time The Wake comprised Caesar (vocals, guitar), Carolyn Allen (keyboards), Steven Allen (drums) and Bobby Gillespie (bass). On release as Fact 60 the original 7 track mini album earned a 5 star review in Sounds magazine, hailed as the missing indiepop link between Factory and Postcard Records.
Bonus tracks on this extended remaster include dub-informed second single Something Outside (FBN 24), and their popular John Peel session from July 1983 - the last recordings to feature Gillespie before his departure for The Jesus and Mary Chain and Primal Scream.
The CD edition includes enhanced artwork featuring previously unseen images of the band by photographer Paul Slattery, taken at the Mitchell Library in Glasgow.
1. Favour
2. Heartburn
3. An Immaculate Conception
4. Judas
5. Testament
6. Patrol
7. The Old Men
8. Chance
9. Something Outside
10. Host
11. The Drill (Peel Session)
12. Uniform (Peel Session)
13. Here Comes Everybody (Peel Session)
14. On Our Honeymoon
15. Give Up