Format: CD
Artist: Nina Simone
CatNo: SNAP300CD
Tags (click for related products):
Young Gifted and Black Live at Berkeley Nina Simone CD

Two classic Nina Simone albums on one CD.

Nina Simone was undisputedly one of the 20th century's most significant popular singers - her music has always defied categorisation; during her long recording career she encompassed just about every popular music style, from soul to jazz, from folk to R&B and from gospel to Broadway hits.
This is a long overdue CD re-issue of two of her long out-of-print albums, which were originally released on her then husband/producer/mentor's Stroud label in the early Seventies, at a time when she was at the peak of her considerable powers.
Recorded in studios in California and released in 1971, 'Gifted & Black' comprises eight songs, four of which are hard-to-come-by original recordings. The other four are fascinating re-workings of songs Simone had recorded in earlier years including 'Black Is The Colour', 'The Thrill Is Gone' and her first hit 'I Loves You, Porgy' (credited here as 'Porgy').
Live At Berkeley was recorded at The University of California in Berkeley in October, 1969 and features versions of 6 classic Simone tracks including 'To Be Young, Gifted And Black', 'Backlash Blues' and 'Ain't Got No / I Got Life'.
1. Black Is The Colour
2. Since My Love Is Gone
3. Blue Prelude
4. Spring Is Here
5. Porgy
6. Remind Me
7. Near To You
8. The Thrill Is Gone
1. Ain't Got No / I Got Life
2. Four Women
3. No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed
4. Backlash Blues
5. The Assignment Song
6. To Be Young, Gifted And Black