Format: CD
Artist: Ophthalamia
Tags (click for related products):
cd peaceville ophthalamia a journey in darkness
This Swedish band was formed in 1989 by IT, mainly known for his dark band Abruptum, (which was signed to DSP, the label of ex-Mayhem guitarist Euronymous) and his heavy presence in the Scandinavian black metal scene in the late 80s & early 90s.
Opthalamia was a land of pure fantasy created by IT and the songs are connected to stories based around this fantasy-world. The original vocalist of the band was All (also in Abruptum), but he was then replaced by Shadow (Jon Nödtveidt of classic death/black metal band, Dissection). Shadow handled vocals this album, the band's debut album, originally released in 1994. 
Though the band could be classified as black metal, there is much more to Opthalamia, with varied metal influences, tempo changes and melodic passages becoming progressively more prominent, helping to distinguish them from their peers.
The album was produced by the legendary Dan Swano (Opeth, Katatonia, etc) & Opthalamia at Unisound in 1993. 
1. A Cry From The Halls Of Blood / Empire Of Lost Dreams
2. Enter The Darkest Thoughts Of The Chosen / Agony's Silent Paradise
3. Journey In Darkness / Entering The Forest
4. Shores Of Kaa-Ta-Nu / The Eternal Walk Pt II
5. A Lonely Soul / Hymn To A Dream
6. Little Child Of Light / Degradation Of Holyness
7. Castle Of No Repair / Lies From A Blackened Heart
8. This Is The Pain Called Sorrow / To The Memory Of Me
9. I Summon Thee Oh Father / Death Embrace Me