Format: Vinyl
Artist: Lightnin Hopkins
Tags (click for related products):
Lightnin Hopkins Free Form Patterns Vinyl


A heavyweight vinyl edition of Texas blues legend Sam Lightnin' Hopkins' solitary album for the Psychedelic imprint, International Artists.
Recorded in January 1968. it stands out in Lightnin' discography due to the unusual line-up on the sessions, with the veteran bluesman fuelled by homemade moonshine supported by a young hippy rhythm section, comprising Danny Thomas and Duke Davis from the Thirteenth Floor Elevators (both high on acid at the time).
Free Form Patterns, however, is no failed hippy/blues hybrid, just a straightforward honest blues album with the great man backed by fans, who happened to be members of a legendary Psychedelic band. Its significance lies in how the music cut across the generation and racial boundaries within the segregated and repressive atmosphere of late 1960s Texas.


Side 1:
1. Mr. Charlie (7:03)
2. Give Me Time To Think (3:48)
3. Fox Chase (3:26)
4. Mr. Ditta's Grocery Store (5:33)
5. Open Up Your Door (3:55)
Side 2:
1. Baby Child (3:34)
2. Cooking's Done (3:47)
3. Got Her Letter This Morning (AKA: She' s Almost Dead) (4:56)
4. Rain Falling (5:01)
5. Mini Skirt. (3:01)