Format: CD
Artist: Various Artists
CatNo: FBN55CD
Tags (click for related products):
Various Artists Of Factory New York CD New Order
Factory Benelux and New Order present Of Factory New York, a benefit album released in 2014 to assist the late Michael Shamberg, who ran the NYC office of Factory Records during the celebrated label's 80s heyday.
Of Factory New York gathers together a selection of classic tracks by artists associated with OFNY including the John Robie remix of Yashar by Cabaret Voltaire, Do the Du by A Certain Ratio, Cool As Ice by 52nd Street, Love Tempo by Quando Quango, the Megamix version of Looking From A Hilltop by Section 25 and an exclusive version of Your Silent Face by New Order, recorded live on tour at Irvine, California, on 16 June 1989.
Homegrown American talent featured on the album includes Ike Yard, Thick Pigeon, Konk, Anna Domino and deejay/producer Arthur Baker. The cover art is based on an original 1983 design by Lawrence Weiner, the conceptual artist closely associated with Shamberg and Factory's Big Apple operation.
Unfortunately in 2006 Michael was struck down with highly debilitating mitochondrial disease. All artists featured on Of Factory New York have donated their work free of charge. Following Michael's passing Factory Benelux will now donate all revenues to an appropriate charity in his memory.
1. A Certain Ratio Do the Du
2. Quando Quango Love Tempo
3. Konk Baby Dee
4. 52nd Street Cool As Ice
5. Cabaret Voltaire Yashar
6. New Order Your Silent Face
7. Section 25 Looking From A Hilltop
8. Streetlife Act On Instinct
9. Marcel King Reach For Love
10. Thick Pigeon Subway
11. Ike Yard Kino
12. Arthur Baker Come On
13. Anna Domino Summer