Format: CD
Artist: Jakko M. Jakszyk
CatNo: GYRCD003
Tags (click for related products):
jakko m jakszyk panegyric 2cd the bruised romantic glee club
The Bruised Romantic Glee Club is the 5th and most personal solo album by composer Jakko M. Jakszyk. 
Comprising one CD of self-composed music featuring melodic tunes, glorious choruses, high production values with first class musicianship, with a second disc of eclectic cover versions of songs from the 60s and 70s including material by Henry Cow, King Crimson and Soft Machine, the album combines the best in modern Prog, with a set of personalised versions of some of the genre's classic
The Bruised Romantic Glee Club deploys luscious ballads, mature pop melodies, widescreen dynamic instrumentals and hauntingly beautiful tunes whose lyrical content often borders on the confessional. 
Originally intended for release some two years ago, the album got to the point of garnering fantastic reviews and a firm release date when the proposed distributor collapsed. Such is its reputation that the few copies that did make it to the marketplace now command high prices.
As might be expected from someone who replaced Alan Holdsworth in Level 42 and featured as guitarist and singer in ex-King Crimson alumni project, The 21st Century Schizoid Band, the musicianship on the album is of a consistently high calibre and Jakko is joined by a formidable array of guest contributors that reads like a who's who of the best and most innovative musicians from the UK music scene of the last 30 years: drummer Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), acoustic bassist Danny Thompson (Pentangle, John Martyn), guitarist Robert Fripp (King Crimson), sax and flute from Mel Collins (King Crimson, Roger Waters) electric bass from Mark King (Level 42) piano & keyboards from Dave Stewart (ex-Hatfield & The North), drummer Ian Wallace (King Crimson, Bob Dylan), Soft Machine bassist, Hugh Hopper and ex-Groundhogs drummer, Clive Brooks.
With its evocative use of the vintage instrument Mellotron, unusual time signatures and A-list musicianship, The Bruised Romantic Glee Club is destined to become a modern Prog classic. 
'Achingly smooth though confrontationally stark and ambient. Deliciously progtastic.' - Classic Rock (8/10)
'An intensely personal trip through his past?. Drool over Jakszyk's multi-instrumental writing, daring sonic juxtapositions, daunting time signatures and mania for the Mellotron.' - Uncut Magazine (4/5)
Disc 1:
1. The Bruised Romantic Glee Club
2. Variations on a Theme by Holst
3. Catley's Ashes
4. When Peggy Came Home
5. Highgate Hill
6. Forgiving
7. No One Left to Lie to
8 The Things we Throw Away
9. Doxy, Dali & Duchamp
10. Srebrenica
11. When we go Home
Disc 2:
1. As Long as he Lies Perfectly Still
2. That Still & Perfect Summer
3. Astral Projection in Pinner
4. Pictures of an Indian City
5. Nirvana for Mice
6. Islands 
7. The Citizen King
8. Soon After