Format: CD
Artist: Rick Wakeman
CatNo: SMACD1268
Tags (click for related products):
Rick Wakeman A Gallery Of The Imagination CD Madfish
The 2023 concept album from keyboard legend Rick Wakeman and The English Rock Ensemble is a diverse affair, featuring Prog pieces with soaring Moog solos, solo piano numbers and eight unconventional vocal tracks.
The conception of the album began at the age of five. Rick’s childhood piano teacher, Mrs Symes, taught him that musicians with instruments are like an artist with paint; something that Rick carried through his life, creating sonic paintings through his composition.
Wakeman says: “One of my great loves is going to museums and art galleries and seeing all the different types of art, so I thought, why not a music gallery… A Gallery of the Imagination? People can paint their own mind pictures to the different types of music that are on the album. It is very diverse and for me it works very well because the concept holds it all together”.
"It is a very tactile album” Rick explains. “I’d like to feel that people can actually touch the music.” - fans are encouraged to create their own artworks inspired by the music, which one day Rick hopes to be displayed. 
The line-up on A Gallery Of The Imagination - as with Rick's previous album The Red Planet - features bassist Lee Pomeroy, guitarist Dave Colquhoun, drummer Ash Soan and on vocals Hayley Sanderson.
CD in jewel case.
1. Hidden Depths
2. The Man in the Moon
3. A Mirage in the Clouds
4. The Creek
5. My Moonlight Dream
6. Only When I Cry
7. Cuban Carnival
8. Just a Memory
9. The Dinner Party
10. A Day Spent on the Pier
11. The Visitation
12. The Eyes of a Child