Format: CD
Artist: Katatonia
Tags (click for related products):
Katatonia For Funerals to Come CD
Katatonia was formed in 1991 by Anders Nyström and Jonas Renkse. 
Their debut album, 'Dance of December Souls', was released in 1993, gaining the band recognition for their eclectic brand of gothic doom/death metal and joining acts such as Paradise Lot and My Dying Bride as one of the genre's defining bands. 
By the band's third album, 'Discouraged Ones', a new, sleeker Katatonia sound emerged, which the band continue to refine to this day.
'For Funerals to Come' is a rare slice of death/doom metal mastery from 1994, which was recorded following Katatonia's debut album, 'Dance of December Souls'. 
It was recorded with Dan Swanö at Unisound Studios and contains all the trademarks of early Katatonia, with the haunting guitar melodies and slow tempos combining with the tortured vocals of Jonas Renkse to create an aura of melancholy and gothic darkness.
This edition of 'For Funerals to Come' contains 2 extra tracks, 'Black Erotica' and 'Love of the Swan' (both also recorded at Unisound later in 1994), which had previously appeared on an obscure compilation, and new liner notes from co-founder and guitarist, Anders Nyström.
1. Funeral Wedding 
2. Shades of Emerald Fields 
3. For Funerals to Come 
4. Epistel 
5. Black Erotica 
6. Love of the Swan