Format: CD
Artist: Markus Reuter & Ian Boddy
CatNo: DiN52
Tags (click for related products):
Markus Reuter Ian Boddy Memento cd
'Memento' (DiN52) is the fifth DiN CD collaboration between label boss Ian Boddy & renowned composer and touch guitarist Markus Reuter. They were there at the birth of DiN in 1999 with their inaugural release Distant Rituals (DiN2) and this latest work not only affectionately looks back to that album but forges ahead into new musical territory.
The album opens with the powerful tour de force of 'Gyroscope' with its ever evolving guitar arpeggios and thunderous percussion. The following track 'Spindrift' has a mysterious harmonic feel highlighted by Reuter's beautiful guitar playing & Boddy's ambient production. 'Linger' & 'Stay'  form a pair of soundscapes where Reuter's guitar loop ambiences are intermingled with extraordinary analogue textures from Boddy's Serge modular synthesiser. The former provides a breathing space within the album after the two opening tracks whereas the latter brings the CD to a gentle, drifting close. The title track hearkens back to the duos first collaborative album with it's pulsing cut up treatment of a Reuter guitar loop soundscape and perhaps informs the listener as to the nature of this 'Memento'. Although Boddy often keeps in the background in terms of lead solo work when working with Reuter the track 'Deadlock' features an Ondes Martenot style synth line that soars above this dark emotionally laden piece.
Once again Reuter & Boddy have proved to be a potent musical team with their balance of styles producing a complex, deep album. Effortlessly crossing genres between prog and ambient electronica it not only looks back to their roots but creates new sonic landscapes for the listener to explore.
1 Gyroscope  07:45
2 Spindrift  06:56
3 Linger  06:24
4 Memento  06:31
5 Vermillion  09:08 
6 Deadlock  09:34
7 Stay  06:26
All tracks composed, played & produced by Markus Reuter & Ian Boddy (September - November 2016).
Mixed by Ian Boddy & Markus Reuter (November 2016).
Mastered by Ian Boddy @ DiN studio (December 2016).
Markus Reuter: 
Touch Guitars: AU8, 6-string Electric Guitar, Looping, Programming 
Ian Boddy: 
Serge & Eurorack Modulars, Moog Voyager, Ableton Live running NI Kontakt, Spectrasonics Omnisphere & Camel Audio Alchemy