Dave and Barbara's epic, densely-textured The Big Idea took nearly five years to record and marks their transition from radio-friendly pop singles to the album long form. Originally released in 1990, the album contains a mixture of imaginative, heavily reworked covers (including atmospheric versions of The Blue Nile's 'Heatwave' and Billy Bragg's 'Levi Stubbs' Tears') and Dave Stewart originals. It concludes with the monumental 'New Jerusalem', featuring a 25-piece Welsh choir, the pipe organ of St. George's Church, Hanover Square and a thunderous, cross-rhythmic contribution from Porcupine Tree / King Crimson drummer Gavin Harrison. Other contributors include Jakko Jakszyk, Rick Biddulph and Robin Boult (guitars), Bill Bruford (percussion) and the amazing 25-voice Amorphous Choir from Wales. This album is also available on the remastered CD <a href="https://www.burningshed.com/store/davebarb/multiproduct/326/2702/">The Big Idea (Special Edition)</a>, which contains the bonus track 'Like The Ocean'.


1. Levi Stubbs' Tears (Billy Bragg) (5:11)
2. My Scene (D. Stewart) (5:47)
3. Grey Skies (D. Stewart) (6:38)
4. Subterranean Homesick Blues (Bob Dylan) (3:39)
5. Heatwave (P. Buchanan / R. Bell) (8:07)
6. The Crying Game (G. Stephens) (3:51)
7. Deep Underground (D. Stewart) (7:08)
8. Shadowland (D. Stewart) (5:31)
9. Mr. Theremin (D. Stewart) (5:59)
10. New Jerusalem (D. Stewart)  (9:21)