Format: CD
Artist: Theo Travis
CatNo: 33JAZZ115
Tags (click for related products):
cd theo travis earth to ether
Earth to Ether is British saxophonist/flautist/ composer Theo Travis's  sixth album for the 33 Records label and features Theo's regular touring band, including pianist Simon Colam (recently performing with Trilok Gurtu and touring with Mercury nominee Ty), bassist Andy Hamill (Mark Murphy, Carleen Anderson, 4 Hero), and drummer Marc Parnell (Francis Dunnery, Jethro Tull, Damien Rice, Trevor Watts). 
Special guest on the CD is ex-Caravan/Hatfield & The North singer and guitarist Richard Sinclair, one of the most unique talents of the 1970s English progressive/Canterbury music scene. A founding member, singer and bass player of Caravan and Hatfield & The North, and collaborator with the likes of Robert Wyatt, Hugh Hopper and Tony Coe, Richard's distinctly English voice delivers performances of rare clarity and poignancy. Another guest contributor to the CD is writer Jonathan Coe. A fan of both Richard Sinclair and Theo Travis, Jonathan contributes lyrics to two songs on the CD. Coe is well known for his books including "The Rotters Club" and its follow up "Closed Circle".  The album was recorded in London, and mixed by Porcupine Tree main man (and producer of Anja Garbarek, Opeth and No Man), Steven Wilson. 
Influenced by 1970's jazz flute, cool jazz, Brazilian songs, Canterbury music, progressive folk, King Crimson, Eddie Harris, Hubert Laws and a love of melody and lush atmospheres, the album includes eight Travis originals and collaborations which feature his strong melodies, a varied approach to writing, imaginative arrangements and his remarkable flute playing. Travis's pieces vary in style from the freeform flute improvisation of "stewed flute", to the funky "Full Moon Rising part 2"  to the complex writing of "Things Change" and "the Mystic and the Emperor" to simple beautiful melodies such as "Marti" and "the Book". There is also a powerful instrumental version of 21st Century Schizoid Man. 
"For a 21st century sax man like Travis, it all makes glorious, sensual sense. So just sit back and set your controls for the heart of this man's big sound and bigger ideas. Earth to Ether, over and out."  Jazzwise
1. The Mystic And The Emperor
2. 21st Century Schizoid Man
3. The Book
4. Marti
5. The Munich Train
6. This Frozen Time
7. Stewed Flute
8. Things Change
9. Full Moon Rising Part 2